Bison Softball earns Summit League Tournament Championship

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) -- North Dakota State University scored early and exploded late to defeat IUPUI 10-1 in six innings to claim its third straight Summit League Softball Championship before 405 spectators on Saturday, May 14, at the Ellig Sports Complex. It was the seventh tournament title over the past eight years for the Bison, which earned the league's automatic berth into the NCAA tournament.

The NCAA tournament selection show is scheduled for 9 p.m. Sunday, May 15, on ESPNU.

North Dakota State (38-13) has won 14 straight games and 20 of its last 21. The Bison have won 33 straight Summit League games including regular season and the past two postseason tournaments.

NDSU bolted out of the gate early, scoring two runs in each of the first two innings. Katie Shoultz led off with an infield single in the first inning and scooted to third when Logan Moreland reached on an error. Cheyenne Garcia fouled out down the right field line to score Shoultz. Moreland stole second and scored on Bre Beatty's base hit through the left side.

The Bison extended the lead to 4-0 in the top of the second. Maritza Lopez-Portillo laced a single to second, advanced to second on a ground out, moved to third on a passed ball. Shoultz walked, stole second and both runners scored on Moreland's single up the middle.

North Dakota State pitcher Jacquelyn Sertic kept IUPUI off-stride throughout the contest. The Jaguars (20-35) entered Saturday hitting .362 with seven home runs and 30 runs scored. Sertic struck out 11, walked two and allowed two hits to improve to 23-6.

IUPUI cut the deficit to 4-1 when Maggie Good led off the fourth inning with a towering solo home run to center field.

NDSU exploded for six runs in the top of the sixth inning to pull away from the Jaguars. Lopez-Portillo scored on an error, Garcia lined a two-run double to right center, Reina ripped a RBI double to right and Beatty belted a two-run home run to center all with two outs.

The Bison collected 10 hits. Shoultz, Beatty and Lopez-Portillo each had a pair. Beatty finished the tournament hitting .875 (7x8) with her first two collegiate home runs, five RBI, five walks and four runs scored.

Brooke Boejter (12-15) and Kaitlynn Moody pitched for IUPUI with Boejter picking up the loss. Boejter struck out five and walked three.

Summit League Softball All-Tournament Team
MVP--KK Leddy, P, North Dakota State
Bre Beatty, DP, North Dakota State
Logan Moreland, SS, North Dakota State
Cheyenne Garcia, 2B, North Dakota State
Alyssa Reina, C, North Dakota State
Brooke Boetjer, P, IUPUI
Taylor Chitwood, 3B, IUPUI
Roni Patterson, C, IUPUI
Maggie Good, 1B, IUPUI
Lia Mancuso, CF, Omaha
Bailey Schulenberg, DP, Omaha
Kelly Pattison, RF, Omaha
Jamie Holscher, 2B, South Dakota
Yvon Minogue, 1B, South Dakota
Kelsey Marlow, SS, Western Illinois
Devan Larsen 3B, South Dakota State