Throws power NDSU at Bison Open

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) -- The North Dakota State men’s track & field team improved several nationally ranked performances and won seven more events to close out the Bison Open on Saturday afternoon.

While world leader Payton Otterdahl didn’t compete in the shot put, the NDSU men still had an extremely impressive showing with five Bison men registering personal-best throws. Sophomore Alex Talley threw 63-05.00 (19.33m) for the win, surpassing All-American Alex Renner for No. 2 all-time at NDSU and No. 15 on the national leaderboard this year.

Freshman Kristoffer Thomsen hit a season-best 62-00.25 (18.90m) to rank 24th in the NCAA this season, junior Michael Keogan threw 59-02.75 (18.05m) for 48th in the nation, and sophomore Trevor Otterdahl reached 56-06.00 (17.22m). The trio rank fourth, sixth and ninth, respectively on the NDSU all-time lists.

Bison senior Ryan Enerson won the heptathlon with a score of 5,111 points, and junior Ben Klimpke was the runner-up with a personal-best 5,043 to rank ninth in NDSU history.

Senior J.T. Butler won the 200m dash in 22.17, and sophomore Tim Heikkila won the 3000m in 8:53.51.

Freshman Josh Samyn (Winnipeg, Manitoba) won the 800m in 1:55.52 and led a Bison sweep of the top four places in the event. Jacob Rodin was second in 1:55.62, Keiser Freetly took third in 1:56.00, and Kurt TeBeest finished fourth in 1:56.23.

Junior Evan Kottsick won the mile in a personal-best 4:16.56. Connor Schank was the runner-up in 4:18.80.

Sophomore Noah Shafer won the pole vault, clearing 15-06.50 (4.74m).

Bison senior Kelle’Mon Hinton finished second in the triple jump at 48-10.25 (14.89m). Sophomore Brandon Lewis placed third in the long jump with a mark of 23-11.75 (7.31m), and sophomore Marcus Walton took third in the high jump, clearing 6-09.50 (2.07m).

The North Dakota State women’s track & field team climbed the national and conference performance lists at the Bison Open inside the Shelly Ellig Indoor Track & Field Facility on Saturday.

The Bison women swept the top nine places in the shot put, led by champion Bailey Retzlaff who ranks eighth in the nation this season. Retzlaff threw 55-11.25 (17.05m) for the win.

Redshirt freshman Akealy Moton moved up to No. 2 in NDSU history and No. 16 in the NCAA in the shot put, throwing 54-05.25 (16.59m). Bison junior Shelby Gunnells posted an 11-inch improvement to 54-01.25 (16.49m) – up to 19th in the NCAA this season and No. 4 in NDSU indoor history.

Junior Maddy Nilles hit a career-best 49-09.75 (15.18m) in the shot put, moving up to No. 8 on the NDSU all-time list.

Sophomore Kelby Anderson won the mile in 4:48.06, ranking fourth all-time at NDSU. Only three first-team All-Americans have run a faster mile for the Bison – Erin Teschuk, Laura Hermanson and Maddie Van Beek.

Michaela Baker (Brooklyn Park, Minn.) continued her breakout sophomore season. She clocked 8.64 seconds in the 60m hurdles prelims – tied for 3rd on the NDSU all-time list. The Robbinsdale Armstrong HS prep recorded three personal-bests on the day, going 39-05.75 (12.03m) in the triple jump to rank her eighth in NDSU indoor history.

Sophomore Daejha Moss won the 60m dash title, clocking 7.70 seconds in the prelims to rank ninth-fastest in NDSU history. Moss (19-03.25), freshman Jodi Lipp (19-00.00) and Baker (18-09.75) swept the top three places for the Bison women in the long jump, with each posting a personal-best leap.

After winning the 600m last night, sophomore Peyton Frolek came back to win the 400m in an indoor personal-best 57.96. Senior Katie Bostrom took the 800m title in a season-best time of 2:15.43. Freshman Erin Valgardson was the runner-up.

Klara Lyon cleared a season-best 12-07.25 (3.84m) for second place in the pole vault, and Jocelyn Dinius cleared the same height for third.

Sophomore Ansley Schug (Woodbury, Minn.) ran a personal-best 8.90 seconds in the 60m hurdles for fourth place.