Stick Named FCS National Performer of the Year

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) -- College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) today announced major honors for six-time FCS national champion North Dakota State. Bison quarterback Easton Stick has been named the winner of the 2017 FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. The team, in addition, was honored for the top FCS performance in 2017.

Stick, a junior from Omaha, Neb., went 164-for-264 passing for 2,466 yards and 28 touchdowns. He also rushed for 663 yards and 12 TDs, averaging 5.9 yards per rush.

The CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy is a 22" K-9 optic crystal tower with 8" K-9 optic crystal football on top.

Stick is the fifth Bison to earn CFPA annual honors, following John Prelvitz (CFPA Punter Award), Marcus Williams (CFPA Defensive Back Award), defensive lineman Kyle Emanuel (CFPA National Defensive Performer of the Year), and Ben LeCompte (CFPA Punter Award).

North Dakota State, honored as the CFPA's top team, recently concluded its 2017 season as the unanimous No. 1 pick in the STATS FCS Top 25 and the FCS Coaches Poll. NDSU defeated JMU 17-13 in the FCS championship game, finishing with an overall record of 14-1.

The CFPA is in its tenth year of player and team performance recognition.