NDSU’s Volson Named Top Offensive Lineman in FCS

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) -- North Dakota State center Tanner Volson was named the top offensive lineman in the Football Championship Subdivision on Thursday, Dec. 20, with his selection to the FCS Athletic Directors Association All-America Team, which recognizes the top student-athletes from FCS institutions at 11 different positions.

Volson, a senior from Balfour, N.D., was previously selected as the Rimington Award winner as the best center in the FCS. He has made the All-America first teams announced by the Associated Press, STATS and HERO Sports. He is a two-time All-Missouri Valley Football Conference performer.

The FCS top offensive lineman has been from NDSU all six years of the FCS ADA All-America team's history, including left tackle Billy Turner in 2013, left tackle Joe Haeg in 2014 and 2015, left guard Zack Johnson in 2016, and right guard Austin Kuhnert in 2017.

Other past NDSU recipients include 2014 defensive end and defensive player of the year Kyle Emanuel and 2015 punter Ben LeCompte.

From the 11 All-America Team honorees, an Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year will be announced prior to the FCS national championship game and recognized in an on-field presentation Jan. 5 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

2018 FCS ADA All-America Team
Pos. Name School Conference
QB Devlin Hodges Samford Southern Conference
RB Joe Protheroe Cal Poly Big Sky Conference
WR Michael Bandy San Diego Pioneer Football League
TE Donald Parham Stetson Pioneer Football League
OL Tanner Volson North Dakota State Missouri Valley Football Conference
PK Roldan Alcobendas Eastern Washington Big Sky Conference
DL Derick Roberson Sam Houston State Southland Conference
LB Zach Hall Southeast Missouri State Ohio Valley Conference
DB Jimmy Moreland James Madison CAA Football
RS D'Angelo Amos James Madison CAA Football
P Chris Faddoul Florida A&M Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference