NDSU’s Trey Lance Named to STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award Watch List

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) - North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance was one of 24 freshmen named to the initial STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award watch list Tuesday, Nov. 5. The award has been presented annually since 2011 to the top freshman player in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Lance, a 6-foot-3, 221-pound redshirt freshman from Marshall, Minn., ranks second in the FCS in passing efficiency (186.1), fourth in pass completion percentage (.686), sixth in yards per pass attempt (9.30) and ninth in points responsible for (162) through nine games.

Lance has attempted a school-record 160 consecutive passes without an interception going 109-for-159 this season for 1,479 yards and 19 touchdowns. He is also NDSU's leading rusher with 88 attempts for 595 yards and eight TDs for the Bison, who rank second in the FCS in points per game (39.2) and fourth in rushing yards per game (288.0).

The first NDSU freshman to start a season-opener for the Bison, Lance burst onto the scene against Butler passing for 185 yards and four touchdowns and rushing for 116 yards and two scores. He was the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player and Newcomer of the Week for that performance.

He earned a second MVFC Newcomer of the Week honor following a win in the conference opener at Illinois State, where he accounted for 232 yards including 12 of 15 passing for 189 yards and three TDs.

Lance is the second NDSU player nominated for the Jerry Rice Award. Linebacker Jabril Cox finished sixth in the 2017 voting.

A national panel of more than 150 sports information directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the award following the regular season. The award is named for the legendary Hall of Fame wide receiver who played four seasons in the FCS at Mississippi Valley State.

2019 STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award Watch List
John Bachus III, QB, UT Martin
Omar Brown, CB, Northern Iowa
Tyrese Chambers, WR, Sacred Heart
Ian Corwin, QB, Drake
Jacob Dobbs, LB, Holy Cross
Nick Eaton, DE, UC Davis
Metrius Fleming, WR/RS, Tennessee Tech
Tra Fluellen, S, Houston Baptist
Ailym Ford, RB, Chattanooga
Xavier Gipson, WR/KR, Stephen F. Austin
Devron Harper, WR/RS, Gardner-Webb
Tyler Hudson, WR, Central Arkansas
Abdul-Fatai Ibrahim, WR, Alabama A&M
Hendrix Johnson, WR, Northern Arizona
Kevin Johnson, RB/KR, Norfolk State
Trey Lance, QB, North Dakota State
Jalen Leary, RB, Stetson
Will McElvain, QB, Northern Iowa
Keegan Shoemaker, QB, Lafayette
Jake Stebbins, LB, Cornell
Jeff Undercuffler, QB, Albany
Tristan Wheeler, LB, Richmond
Javon Williams Jr., RB, Southern Illinois
Hajj-Malik Williams, QB, Campbell