NDSU’s Trey Lance Added to Walter Payton Award Watch List

Published: Nov. 6, 2019 at 4:19 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance was one of 16 players added to the STATS FCS Walter Payton Award watch list Wednesday, Nov. 6. The award has been presented annually since 1987 to the top offensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Lance, a 6-foot-3, 221-pound redshirt freshman from Marshall, Minn., is the only freshman player nominated for this year’s Walter Payton Award. He ranks second in the FCS in passing efficiency (186.1), fourth in pass completion percentage (.686), sixth in yards per pass attempt (9.30) and ninth in points responsible for (162) through nine games.

Lance has attempted a school-record 160 consecutive passes without an interception going 109-for-159 this season for 1,479 yards and 19 touchdowns. He is also NDSU's leading rusher with 88 attempts for 595 yards and eight TDs for the Bison, who rank second in the FCS in points per game (39.2) and fourth in rushing yards per game (288.0).

The first NDSU freshman to start a season-opener for the Bison, Lance burst onto the scene against Butler passing for 185 yards and four touchdowns and rushing for 116 yards and two scores. He was the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player and Newcomer of the Week for that performance.

He earned a second MVFC Newcomer of the Week honor following a win in the conference opener at Illinois State, where he accounted for 232 yards including 12 of 15 passing for 189 yards and three TDs.

Lance is also nominated for the STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award, which goes to the FCS freshman of the year.

NDSU has had five previous finalists for the Walter Payton Award including quarterback Easton Stick, whose third-place finish in the 2018 vote was the highest by a Bison player.

A national panel of more than 150 sports information directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the award following the regular season. The award is named for the legendary Hall of Fame running back who played four seasons in the FCS at Jackson State.

Latest News

Latest News