NDSU’s Matt Entz Named AFCA FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year

Published: Dec. 10, 2019 at 1:49 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

North Dakota State first-year head football coach Matt Entz was named FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association on Tuesday, Dec. 10.

Entz, who spent the previous five seasons as North Dakota State's defensive coordinator, inherited a team that lost 24 seniors and 15 full-time starters. He led NDSU to the No. 1 national seed for the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs and has a 13-0 record, which is the best start by a first-year coach in NDSU and MVFC history. He is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, presented to the FCS coach of the year.

The Bison have beaten seven Top 25 teams including four on the road, and North Dakota State leads the FCS in scoring defense (12.3) and ranks second nationally in total defense (273.5), second in total offense (488.8) and fourth in scoring offense (39.8).

No. 1-ranked North Dakota State (13-0) hosts 13th-ranked Illinois State (10-4) in the FCS quarterfinals at 11 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 14, on ESPN.

2019 AFCA FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year

Football Championship Subdivision

Region 1: Buddy Teevens, Dartmouth College

Region 2: Kevin Callahan, Monmouth University (N.J.)

Region 3: Mark Hudspeth, Austin Peay State University

Region 4: Matt Entz, North Dakota State University

Region 5: Jay Hill, Weber State University

Division II

Region 1: Jim Clements, Kutztown University

Region 2: *Drew Cronic, Lenoir-Rhyne University

Region 3: Jim Svoboda, University of Central Missouri

Region 4: *Todd Knight, Ouachita Baptist University

Region 5: *Todd Hoffner, Minnesota State University

Division III

Region 1: Jeff Behrman, Union College (N.Y.)

Region 2: Nate Milne, Muhlenberg College

Region 3: Michael Clark, Bridgewater College (Va.)

Region 4: Peter Stuursma, Hope College

Region 5: Bob Owens, Chapman University


Region 1: Doug Socha, Keiser University

Region 2: *Mark Henninger, Marian University

Region 3: Tom Sallay, Culver-Stockton College &

Myers Hendrickson, Kansas Wesleyan University (tie)

Region 4: *Steve Ryan, Morningside College

Region 5: Mike Nesbitt, Ottawa University-Arizona

*-2018 winner

Latest News

Latest News