NDSU’s Easton Stick Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) - Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association announced the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® on Thursday, Sept. 13. North Dakota State quarterback Easton Stick, one of 22 college football players selected nationwide, was presented with the award at the Sanford Children's Hospital.

The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a special community service project ahead of the 2019 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®, where the entire team will also be recognized on the field during a halftime presentation.

“Football programs across the country do an excellent job of giving back to their local communities and helping those in need,” AFCA Executive Director Todd Berry said. “The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team honors those select few student-athletes and one head coach who go above and beyond in the service of others.”

Stick, a senior from Omaha, Neb., has been active on campus as a member of NDSU's Student-Athlete Advisory Council and in the Fargo-Moorhead community working with the North Dakota Special Olympics, Make-A-Wish, SchoolsAlive!, Feed My Starving Children, and the YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties. He has been a frequent visitor to hospital patients, guest reader in local elementary schools, and guest speaker to various church communities and youth groups.

A graduate of NDSU's sport management program, Stick is currently enrolled in the Master's of Business Administration program at NDSU. He is 35-3 in his fourth year as NDSU's starting quarterback and ranks third all-time in Bison history for passing attempts, completions, yards and touchdowns.

Stick is the seventh NDSU player to be recognized on the AFCA Good Works Team®. Previous recipients were safety Jared Essler in 2004, offensive tackle Tim Popowski in 2005, running back Kyle Steffes in 2006, quarterback Steve Walker in 2007, running back Tyler Roehl in 2008 and cornerback Richard Bowman in 2009.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® was selected by an esteemed voting panel including president of the Eastern Territory at Allstate Insurance Company Dave Prendergast, former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team), Wes Counts (Middle Tennessee State, 1999 team) and Tim Tebow (Florida, 2009 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star) and Paul Myerberg (USA TODAY); 2018 AFCA President and Georgetown College head coach Bill Cronin; 2001 AFCA President and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor.

Fans are encouraged to visit ESPN.com/Allstate to vote for the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain now through Nov. 23, 2018. The team captain will be honored at this season’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.
Throughout the season, fans can follow along and join in on the conversation by using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®
The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® was established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need. Allstate worked to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

The SEC leads all conferences with 72 selections to the Good Works Team® since it began in 1992. The SEC is followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference with 40 selections and the Big 12 Conference with 33 selections. Georgia is in first place with 19 honorees to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska with 15 honorees. Super Bowl XLII, XLVI and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams®, respectively.

About AFCA
The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”

2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®
Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
Clemson University - Sean Pollard
Duke University - Johnathan Lloyd
Kansas State University - Dalton Risner
Syracuse University - Kielan Whitner
University of California, Berkeley - Patrick Laird
University of Georgia - Rodrigo Blankenship
University of Nebraska - Freedom Akinmoladun
University of Notre Dame - Nic Weishar
University of Oklahoma - Caleb Kelly
University of Texas - Chase Moore
University of Wisconsin - D’Cota Dixon

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)
Bemidji State University - Jared Henning
Bethel University (Minn.) - Kyle Kilgore
Butler University - Drew Bevelhimer
DePauw University - Hunter Sego
Drake University - Nathan Clayberg
Macalester College - Ethan Levin
Morningside College - Trent Solsma
North Carolina Central University - Nick Leverett
North Dakota State University - Easton Stick
Saint John’s University (Minn.) - Jackson Erdmann
Southwest Minnesota State University - Jon Dicke

Honorary Head Coach
Washington University in St. Louis - Larry Kindbom