NDSU Leads League With 11 All-MVFC Picks, Six on First Team

ST. LOUIS (Missouri Valley Football Conference) – North Dakota State led all schools with 11 players named to the All-Missouri Valley Football Conference team by a vote of the league's media, head coaches and sports information directors announced Monday, Nov. 27.

NDSU had six first team picks: fullback Connor Wentz, right guard Austin Kuhnert, long snapper James Fisher, linebacker Nick DeLuca, and safeties Tre Dempsey and Robbie Grimsley.

Second team selections from NDSU were running back Bruce Anderson, wide receiver RJ Urzendowski, center Tanner Volson, defensive tackle Aaron Steidl and linebacker Jabril Cox.

Right tackle Zack Johnson, kicker Cam Pedersen, quarterback Easton Stick and defensive tackle Nate Tanguay earned honorable mention.

The 11 honorees are NDSU's third most in 10 years of conference membership behind only the 15-0 team of 2013 that landed 14 players between the All-MVFC first and second teams, and the 12 players selected to the 2016 all-conference team.

Last week, NDSU head coach Chris Klieman was named Bruce Craddock Valley Football Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. Linebacker Jabril Cox was named Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year, becoming the first NDSU player to win either award and the third in league history to sweep both of the awards.

North Dakota State finished the regular season 10-1 overall and won its seventh straight Missouri Valley Football Conference championship with a 7-1 league record.

2017 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team
Offensive Player of the Year: QB Chris Streveler, South Dakota
Defensive Player of the Year: LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois
Newcomer of the Year: LB Jabril Cox, North Dakota State (full All-Newcomer Team announced Tuesday, Nov. 28)
Freshman of the Year: LB Jabril Cox, North Dakota State
Bruce Craddock Valley Football Coach of the Year: Chris Klieman, North Dakota State

First Team
QB – Chris Streveler, South Dakota
RB – Tevin McCaster, Youngstown State
RB – James Robinson, Illinois State
FB – Connor Wentz, North Dakota State
WR – Jaelon Acklin, Western Illinois
WR – Daurice Fountain, Northern Iowa
WR – Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State
TE – Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State
OL – Stetson Dagel, South Dakota
OL – Jacob Judd, Western Illinois
OL – Austin Kuhnert, North Dakota State
OL – Jacob Ohnesorge, South Dakota State
OL – Justin Spencer, Youngstown State
K – Sean Slattery, Illinois State
LS – James Fisher, North Dakota State
DL – Darin Greenfield, South Dakota
DL – Dalton Keene, Illinois State
DL – Adam Reth, Northern Iowa
DL – Khalen Saunders, Western Illinois
LB – Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State
LB – Jared Farley, Northern Iowa
LB – Christian Rozeboom, South Dakota State
LB – Brett Taylor, Western Illinois
DB – Jordan Brown, South Dakota State
DB – Elijah Campbell, Northern Iowa
DB – Tre Dempsey, North Dakota State
DB – Robbie Grimsley, North Dakota State
DB – Davontae Harris, Illinois State
P – Lane Reazin, Southern Illinois
RS – Deion Holliman, Missouri State

Second Team
QB – Taryn Christion, South Dakota State
RB – Bruce Anderson, North Dakota State
RB – Steve McShane, Western Illinois
FB – Kane Louscher, South Dakota State
WR – Malik Earl, Missouri State
WR – Spencer Schnell, Illinois State
WR – RJ Urzendowski, North Dakota State
TE – Jacquet McClendon, Indiana State
OL – Lee Carhart, Northern Iowa
OL – Vitas Hrynkiewicz, Youngstown State
OL – Austin Olsen, Southern Illinois
OL – Tanner Volson, North Dakota State
OL – Gavin Wiggins, Youngstown State
K – Chase Vinatieri, South Dakota State
LS – Brandon Godsey, South Dakota
DL – Colby Isbell, Missouri State
DL – Rickey Neal, Northern Iowa
DL – Kellen Soulek, South Dakota State
DL – Aaron Steidl, North Dakota State
LB – Jabril Cox, South Dakota State
LB – Armand Dellovade, Youngstown State
LB – Angelo Garbutt, Missouri State
LB – Jonas Griffith, Indiana State
DB – Jeremy Chinn, Southern Illinois
DB – Justin Fitzpatrick, Western Illinois
DB – Andrew Gray, South Dakota
DB – Billy Nicoe Hurst, Youngstown State
DB – Alec Kocour, Illinois State
P – Sam Kuhter, Northern Iowa
RS – Steve McShane, Western Illinois

Honorable Mention
Illinois State: DL Adam Conley, OL Dean Helt, TE Tylor Petkovich; Indiana State: RB LeMonte Booker, P Thomas Bouldin, LB Katrell Moss; Missouri State: QB Peyton Huslig, DB Darius Joseph, OL Marquis Prophete; North Dakota State: OL Zack Johnson, PK Cam Pedersen, QB Easton Stick, DL Nate Tanguay; Northern Iowa: TE Briley Moore, DB Malcolm Washington, RB Marcus Weymiller; South Dakota: WR Shamar Jackson, LB Jim Litrenta, WR Brandt Van Roekel; South Dakota State: DB Chris Balster, OL Charlie Harmon, RB Brady Mengarelli; Southern Illinois: FB Hans Carmien, RS D.J. Davis, WR Darrell James, DL Anthony Knighton, DB Ryan Neal; Western Illinois: LT Josh Baldus, QB Sean McGuire, LB Quentin Moon, RB Max Norris; Youngstown State: DB Jalyn Powell, TE Kevin Rader, LS Steven Wethli, LB Lee Wright.