NDSU Lands League-High 15 on All-MVFC Team

ST. LOUIS (NDSU Athletics) - North Dakota State led all schools with 15 players named to the All-Missouri Valley Football Conference team by a vote of the league's media, head coaches and sports information directors announced Monday, Nov. 26. It is the most all-conference selections for NDSU since joining the league in 2008.

NDSU had nine first-team selections highlighted by Offensive Player of the Year Easton Stick at quarterback, Defensive Player of the Year Jabril Cox at linebacker, and wide receiver Darrius Shepherd, who also took first-team honors as return specialist.

Shepherd is just the second offensive player in league history to land the double first-team honors, joining 2008 Southern Illinois running back and return specialist Larry Warner.

Other Bison on the first team were center Tanner Volson, right tackle Zack Johnson, defensive end Greg Menard, safety Robbie Grimsley and punter Garret Wegner.

North Dakota State had six on the second team: running backs Bruce Anderson and Lance Dunn, fullback Brock Robbins, tight end Ben Ellefson, left tackle Dillon Radunz and safety James Hendricks.

NDSU cornerback Jalen Allison, defensive end Derrek Tuszka, defensive tackle Cole Karcz and placekicker Cam Pedersen were honorable mention.

The 15 selections are NDSU's most in 11 years of conference membership, topping the 15-0 team of 2013 that landed 14 players between the All-MVFC first and second teams.

2018 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team
First Team
QB - Taryn Christion, South Dakota State
QB - Easton Stick, North Dakota State
RB - Ja'Quan Keys, Indiana State
RB - Tevin McCaster, Youngstown State
RB - James Robinson, Illinois State
FB - Clint Ratkovich, Western Illinois
WR - Cade Johnson, South Dakota State
WR - Spencer Schnell, Illinois State
WR - Darrius Shepherd, North Dakota State
TE - Briley Moore, Northern Iowa
OL - Zack Johnson, North Dakota State
OL - Tiano Pupungatoa, South Dakota State
OL - Cal Twait, Northern Iowa
OL - Tanner Volson, North Dakota State
OL - Gavin Wiggins, Youngstown State
PK - Austin Errthum, Northern Iowa
LS - Steven Wethli, Youngstown State
DL - Darin Greenfield, South Dakota
DL - Greg Menard, North Dakota State
DL - Rickey Neal Jr., Northern Iowa
DL - Khalen Saunders, Western Illinois
LB - Jabril Cox, North Dakota State
LB - Jonas Griffith, Indiana State
LB - Christian Rozeboom, South Dakota State
LB - Pete Swenson, Western Illinois
DB - Jordan Brown, South Dakota State
DB - Jeremy Chinn, Southern Illinois
DB - Robbie Grimsley, North Dakota State
DB - Luther Kirk, Illinois State
DB - Xavior Williams, Northern Iowa
P - Garret Wegner, North Dakota State
RS - Darrius Shepherd, North Dakota State

Second Team
QB - Ryan Boyle, Indiana State
RB - Bruce Anderson, North Dakota State
RB - DJ Davis, Southern Illinois
RB - Lance Dunn, North Dakota State
FB - Brock Robbins, North Dakota State
WR - Dakarai Allen, South Dakota
WR - Raphael Leonard, Southern Illinois
WR - Isaiah LeSure, Western Illinois
TE - Ben Ellefson, North Dakota State
OL - Drew Himmelman, Illinois State
OL - Vitas Hrynkiewicz, Youngstown State
OL - Marquis Prophete, Missouri State
OL - Dillon Radunz, North Dakota State
OL - Wyatt Wozniak, Indiana State
PK - Jerry Nunez, Indiana State
LS - Bradey Sorenson, South Dakota State
DL - Bryce Douglas, Northern Iowa
DL - Ryan Earith, South Dakota State
DL - Anthony Knighton, Southern Illinois
DL - Savon Smith, Youngstown State
LB - Armand Dellovade, Youngstown State
LB - Duncan Ferch, Northern Iowa
LB - Quentin Moon, Western Illinois
LB - Katrell Moss, Indiana State
DB - Justin Fitzpatrick, Western Illinois
DB - Andrew Gray, South Dakota
DB - Rondell Green, Indiana State
DB - James Hendricks, North Dakota State
DB - Devin Taylor, Illinois State
P - Brady Hale, South Dakota State
RS - Steve McShane, Western Illinois

Honorable Mention
Illinois State: LS Paul Monaco, P JT Bohlken, RS Christian Uphoff; Indiana State: OL Isaiah Edwards, OL Tate Leavitt, WR Dante Hendrix; Missouri State: LB Angelo Garbutt, LB McNeece Egbim, TE Jordan Murray, WR Tyler Currie; North Dakota State: DB Jalen Allison, DL Derrek Tuszka, DL Cole Karcz, PK Cam Pedersen; Northern Iowa: RB Marcus Weymiller, OL Jackson Scott-Brown, TE Elias Nissen; South Dakota: OL Cody Jennings, OL Mason Scheidegger, QB Austin Simmons; South Dakota State: FB Luke Sellers, OL Evan Greeneway, WR Adam Anderson; Southern Illinois: LB Bryce Notree, TE Nigel Kilby, WR Landon Lenoir; Western Illinois: DB Xavier Rowe, QB Sean McGuire, RB Steve McShane; Youngstown State: DB Chrispin Lee, DL Shereif Bynum, TE Miles Joiner