Moorhead's Randklev named Mr. Hockey finalist

ST. PAUL (Minnesota Wild) -- The Minnesota Minute Men announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 34th Annual Mr. Hockey Award are: Ben Almquist (Holy Family), George Grannis (Duluth Marshall), Demetrios Koumontzis (Edina), Luke LaMaster (Duluth East), Luke Loheit (Minnetonka), Lucas McGregor (Centennial), Carter Randklev (Moorhead), Colin Schmidt (Wayzata), Sammy Walker (Edina) and Garrett Worth (Duluth East).

The Minnesota Minute Men also announced today that Ben Garrity (Rosemount) and Atticus Kelly (St. Thomas Academy) are the finalists for The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state's top senior goaltender, and Lou Nanne is the recipient of the inaugural Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award, given to an influential leader dedicated to the growth and development of hockey in Minnesota.

The 34th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at noon on Sunday, March 11 Saint Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom (175 Kellogg Boulevard) and hosted by Ali Lucia. The Minnesota State High School League Boys' Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center and Mariucci Arena, March 7-10. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota Minute Men.

Hockey fans and the general public are encouraged to purchase tickets and attend the Mr. Hockey Award Banquet. For more information and to purchase tickets to the Banquet please visit Individual tickets are $40.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys' hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state.

Four other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award; The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year; The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer Coach" of the year; and the Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Casey Mittelstadt (2017), Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Jake Begley (2017), Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O'Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).