11 Straight: Bison Women Capture 11th Consecutive Summit League Indoor Crown

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) -- For the 11th consecutive year, the North Dakota State women’s track & field team walked away from the Summit League Indoor Championships with the team title.

NDSU put up 224 points in the team standings – enough to top second-place South Dakota by 16.5 points. While the margin of victory was the slimmest in NDSU’s 11-year run, the Bison women still had the team title locked up before the final event began.

The Bison have won 21 straight conference team titles since joining the league in 2008, including their string of 10 straight outdoor championships.

Senior thrower Courtney Pasiowitz won her second event title of the meet, taking the shot put crown with a season-best mark of 52-09.50 (16.09m). The Bison women swept the top six places in the shot put to score 36 team points, with Pasiowitz followed by Maggie Schwarzkopf, Kelsey Laufenberg, Bailey Retzlaff, Maddy Nilles and Jordyn Thornton.

Senior Alexis Woods claimed first place in the 400m dash, running 54.41. Bison seniors swept the top three places with Amanda Levin second in a personal-best 55.84 and Deidre Hahn third in 56.86.

Levin, Hahn, Katie Bye and Woods teamed up to cap the meet with a victory in the 4x400m relay.

Lauren Gietzen was the Summit League runner-up in the pole vault, clearing a personal-best 13-07.25 (4.15m) – good enough to tie for second in NDSU indoor history. Freshman Daejha Moss earned runner-up honors in the high jump, clearing 5-06.50 (1.69m).

Piper Jensen (40-08.75) and Bailey DeMar (39-05.00) finished third and fourth in the triple jump. Jensen moved up to third all-time at NDSU in the event.

Katie Bostrom (2:13.90), Katie Bye and Peyton Frolek finished 3-4-5 for the Bison women in the 800m.

Junior Annika Rotvold took third in the mile in 4:54.45, and Bostrom was eighth for NDSU. Later in the meet, Rotvold moved up to fifth all-time at NDSU in the indoor 5000m, finishing sixth in 17:11.08.

Sophomore Macy Denzer placed fourth in the 60m hurdles, running 8.85. Senior Gabby Grommesh finished sixth in the 60m dash, clocking 7.76 seconds.

Pasiowitz was named the Championships Field MVP, and NDSU head coach Stevie Keller earned Coach of the Year honors.