USDA approves disaster designation for 47 North Dakota Counties

Fargo, ND (Valley News Live) - The US Secretary of Agriculture has approved the disaster designation in 47 of North Dakota's 53 counties due to the early blizzard and abnormally wet fall.

This will allow assistance to be available for farmers and ranchers who have struggled with the impact weather has had on their crops.

Record fall precipitation, flooding, a blizzard in early October, and cold temperatures have delayed the fall harvest and hundreds of millions of dollars have already been lost.

Of the counties included in this designation, 45 have experienced at least 30% production loss of at least one crop.