Options for going hands-free once new Minnesota law takes effect
The "hands-free" rules will take effect in August and it means you can't hold your phone while driving in Minnesota.
"Yeah, it's going to be a law. There's no doubt," said Paul Miller of Ramsey.
You won't hear Paul complain one bit.
"It's needed," he said. "See too many people out there driving with their phones and I used to be one of them."
Now he's not one of them, with his Bluetooth headphones.
If you're in need of some hands-free options, Jeff Moravec at Mobile Installation Services has some options.
"Very simple transition," said Moravec.
He says for any car, you can get a mount.
"High powered magnet," said Moravec.
One-touch functions are allowed with the new law.
"A $19.99 magic mount is $19.99 if you're driving a brand new Porsche or an early '80s Buick," said Moravec.
He says you can also get a Bluetooth speaker for $30.
There are also some apps you can download on your phone which keep your hands on the wheel and your eyes on the road. Those apps can read your incoming messages.
Some of those apps are even free.
"Safe drive. Driver mode," said Moravec. "Help keep yourself in control."