FARGO, N.D. (KVLY) To put his front license plate on his 2019 Chevy Corvette, Owen Michelson has to crawl on his garage floor fiddling with the metal until it finally fits.
"It slides up underneath, pushes in and locks in, and usually it scrapes on every curb and things like that, but I want to make sure I'm legal. I don't want to be stopped for something as simple as not having a front license plate," Michelson said.
A dedicated Corvette owner for at least 20 years, Michelson's been pushing for license plate law changes for awhile.
"Aerodynamically, the Corvette wasn't set up to have a front license plate," he explained.
But Michelson's not too sure about a new, proposed North Dakota law change.
"It doesn't make any sense at all. There's very very few Corvettes that are going to be over $100,000 much less 120. So, it doesn't do anything for the thousands of Corvettes in North Dakota," Michelson said.
The proposed bill says sports cars won't need that front plate anymore. The catch? It's only exempt if the car is worth more than $110,000 and only seats two people.
"The bill's not going to do anything for Corvette owners. I only know one Corvette that's over $120,000,' Michelson said.
Michelson and other sports car experts we talked with today say the average new Corvette is about $80,000—missing that exemption mark by at least $30,000.
But Michelson adds it's not just Corvettes that should be exempt, but all vehicles.
"If you're meeting a car at night, I don't even know how you can even see a front license plate if it flashes buy," Michelson said.
So far, 19 states say all drivers only have to have a back license plate, and Michelson says he hopes North Dakota becomes number 20.