Hinze Earns Freshman of the Year, All-Summit League Honors

Published: Apr. 1, 2021 at 11:50 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FARGO, N.D. (NDSU Athletics) - North Dakota State freshman outside hitter Ali Hinze was named The Summit League’s Freshman of the Year for the 2020-21 volleyball season, the league office announced Thursday. Hinze also earned a spot on the 12-woman All-Summit League team.

Hinze, a product of Osseo HS in Minnesota, was joined on the league’s All-Freshman Team by her Osseo and NDSU teammate, Taylor Quan.

Hinze becomes the fourth Bison to be named Summit League Freshman of the Year and the first since Jordan Kissman in 2010.

Hinze was the top freshman in the league with 3.80 kills per set this season. In a match against Omaha on Mar. 13, she recorded 22 kills and 23 digs for the first 20-20 performance by a Bison in over a decade. Hinze finished fourth in The Summit League with an average of 4.36 points per set in conference play.

Overall, Hinze led the Bison with 237 kills and ranked second on the team in digs (195), blocks (27) and service aces (17) in the shortened season.

Quan recorded 15-plus digs in a match seven times this year, posting a season-high 28 digs at South Dakota on Feb. 21. She ranked eighth in the league with 3.78 digs per set as NDSU’s primary libero for the season – the only Summit League freshman to be a regular in that role.

Individual Awards

Player of the YearMelanie Brecka, Kansas City

Defensive Player of the YearClaire Mountjoy, Omaha

Setter of the YearAlli Schomers, Kansas City

Freshman of the YearAli Hinze, North Dakota State

Coach of the YearTom Hogan, Denver

2020 All-Summit League Volleyball Team

Melanie Brecka, Kansas City

Elizabeth Juhnke, South Dakota

Sadie Limback, South Dakota

Lydia Bartalo, Denver

Tina Boe, Denver

Alli Schomers, Kansas City

Ali Hinze, North Dakota State

Madison Harms, South Dakota

Sami Slaughter, South Dakota

Anna Blaschko, Omaha

Ellie Anderson, Denver

Brianna Green, Denver

Honorable Mention

Crystal Burk, South Dakota State

Madison Jurgens, South Dakota

Sami Clarkson, Omaha

Claire Mountjoy, Omaha

Alex Ratzlaff, Kansas City

Maddie Ren, Kansas City

Freshman TeamAli Hinze, North Dakota State

Jaxie Wakley, Oral Roberts

Odyssey Warren, Kansas City

Kaia Dunford, Oral Roberts

Ashia Dorsey, Kansas City

Taylor Quan, North Dakota State

Alexa Albinson, North Dakota

Copyright 2021 KVLY. All rights reserved.