Quantcast

Jackson, Smock Set to Compete at USATF Championships - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

Jackson, Smock Set to Compete at USATF Championships

Posted: Updated:
gobison.com -  One current and one former athlete from the North Dakota State women's track & field team will compete at the USA Track & Field Championships in Sacramento, Calif., this week. NDSU freshman Rose Jackson will participate in the heptathlon at the USA Track & Field Junior Outdoor Combined Events Championships on June 25-26, while former Bison Amanda Smock will contend for another USA championship in the triple jump on June 26.

 
Rose Jackson
Event: Women's junior heptathlon
Date: Wednesday, June 25 and Thursday, June 26
Time:   2 p.m. (CT) / 12 p.m. (PT) on 6/25
            12:30 p.m. (CT) / 10:30 a.m. (PT) on 6/26
 
Jackson, the Summit League runner-up in the heptathlon as a true freshman this season, will compete at the USA Junior Combined Events Championships that run concurrently with the USA Outdoor Championships. The Willmar, Minn., native scored a personal-best 4,950 points at the Summit League Championships to qualify. She also competed in the long jump at the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds this season after tying for the third-best mark in NDSU history at 19-11.50 (6.08m).
 
Jackson will enter with the seventh-best qualifying score in the 11-woman field. The USATF Junior Championships are limited to athletes who do not turn 20 years old until at least 2015.
 
Jackson's personal bests:
100m hurdles: 15.29
High jump: 5-01.75 (1.57m)
Shot put: 32-02.25 (9.81m)
200m dash: 24.53
Long jump: 19-11.50 (6.08m)
Javelin: 97-7 (29.76m)
800m run: 2:21.74
 
Amanda Smock
Event: Women's triple jump
Date: Thursday, June 26
Time: 7:35 p.m. (CT) / 5:35 p.m. (PT)
 
Smock, formerly Amanda Thieschafer, has won three straight American indoor triple jump titles, as well as claiming outdoor national championships in 2011 and 2012. She was the only woman to represent the United States in the triple jump at the 2012 London Olympic Games.
 
Smock was a 13-time All-American from 2001-04 at NDSU. She won NCAA Division II indoor titles in the triple jump in 2002 and 2004 and won the outdoor title in 2003.
 
Reigning USA javelin champion Riley Dolezal and pole vaulter Shawn Francis – both former Bison athletes – are scheduled to compete on the men's side on Sunday, June 29, in Sacramento.
Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.