Election Results for ND June Primary - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

Election Results for ND June Primary

Posted: Updated:
The votes are in and the ballots have been counted. Here are the results of several races around the region decided in the 2014 North Dakota June primary.

The race that brought many voters to the polls on June 10 was the race for Fargo's mayor. Incumbent Dennis Walaker pulled ahead early and with all precincts reporting, Walaker has been elected to keep his position as the Mayor of Fargo. He won 7,723 votes which is 55%. Challenger Brad Wimmer walked away with 6,017 votes at 43%.

Tim Mahoney has been re-elected to his seat on the Fargo City Commission and Dave Piepkorn is back on the commission after losing his seat two years ago.  Mahoney won 28% of votes and Piepkorn took 21%.

The Grand Forks school board had 21 candidates running for seven seats. With all precincts reporting, Meggen Sande, Eric Burin, Rebecca Grandstrand, Douglas Carpenter and Dan Ferguson were elected to the school board's expired terms.  Bill Palmiscno and Ward Johnson were elected to the board's unexpired terms.

The Grand Forks City Council will have two new faces and the first women on the council since 2006.  Crystal Schneider received the most votes in Ward 2, and Jeannie Schultz Mock took the spot in Ward 4.

The proposal to raise the West Fargo sales tax passed, it will now be the same as Fargo's at 7.5%.

There is a possible recount coming in West Fargo in the race for school board after 3 candidates were separated by just 9 votes.

On the lone statewide ballot issue North Dakota voters approved setting an earlier deadline for filing citizen initiated petitions.

To see final results for all the races click on the link to the right of this story or go to valleynewslive.com and click the Election Banner at the top of the home page. 
Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.