Godfrey Earns Second USTFCCCA Midwest Region Coach of the Year H - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

Godfrey Earns Second USTFCCCA Midwest Region Coach of the Year Honor

Posted: Updated:
North Dakota State University head women's track & field and cross country coach Ryun Godfrey was named the Midwest Region Women's Coach of the Year for the 2014 outdoor season, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Monday, June 9.
Godfrey also claimed the top award in the Midwest for the 2014 indoor season, making him one of just four women's coaches in the country to sweep the indoor and outdoor awards this year.
In his 15th year leading NDSU, Godfrey directed his team to its seventh straight Summit League outdoor title and 14th consecutive league title overall including indoor. The Bison won 10 of the 12 running events at this year's Summit League Outdoor Championships.
NDSU was consistently ranked among the top five teams in the Midwest Region this outdoor season, and the Bison earned four entries at the NCAA Championships – more than 27 teams from the SEC, Pac-12, Big Ten, Big 12 and ACC. Godfrey directed the 4x400m relay back to the NCAA Championships after a record-breaking indoor campaign, and they enter this week's meet ranked 14th in the nation.
Under Godfrey's direction, the Bison women have won all 14 league titles in track & field (seven indoor, seven outdoor) since joining the league for the 2007-08 season. NDSU won its third straight Summit League 'Triple Crown' – sweeping the league's cross country, indoor and outdoor team championships.
The Bison have won a combined 30 conference titles in indoor track, outdoor track and cross country since Godfrey became the head coach in 1999.
The Midwest Region is home to teams from 13 conferences including the Atlantic 10, Big 12, Big East, Big Sky, Big 10, Conference USA, Horizon League, Mid-American, Missouri Valley, Ohio Valley, Summit League, SEC and WAC, spanning across nine different states (Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma and South Dakota).

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.