North Dakota State Places 14 on All-MVFC Teams - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

North Dakota State Places 14 on All-MVFC Teams

Posted: Updated:

ST. LOUIS - North Dakota State had 14 players selected to the All-Missouri
Valley Football Conference first and second teams Monday, Dec. 2, by a vote
of the league's head coaches, sports information directors and media.

Eight NDSU players on the first team were quarterback Brock Jensen, fullback
Andrew Grothmann, left tackle Billy Turner, wide receiver Zach Vraa, nose
guard Ryan Drevlow, middle linebacker Grant Olson, cornerback Marcus
Williams and strong safety Colten Heagle.

Six NDSU players on the second team were running back Sam Ojuri, left guard
Zack Johnson, tight end Kevin Vaadeland, wide receiver Ryan Smith (also
second team return specialist), right defensive end Kyle Emanuel and punter
Ben LeCompte.

NDSU right guard Tyler Gimmestad, defensive tackle Leevon Perry and
cornerback CJ Smith were honorable mention.

Jensen last week was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year and
Craig Bohl was voted Bruce Craddock Coach of the Year for the third straight
season.  South Dakota linebacker Tyler Starr was voted Defensive Player of
the Year and Youngstown State running back Martin Ruiz was selected as both
Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year.

No. 1-ranked North Dakota State (11-0) won its third straight Missouri
Valley Football Conference championship with an 8-0 league record and earned
the top overall seed for the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs.
The Bison host Furman (8-5) in a second round game at 2:30 p.m. Saturday,
Dec. 7.


Here's the complete teams:



2013 all-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team


QB -- Brock Jensen, North Dakota State 6-3 225 Sr. Waupaca (Wis.) Waupaca High

RB -- David Johnson, UNI 6-3 225 Jr. Clinton (Iowa) High
 Zach Zenner, South Dakota State 6-0 220 Jr. Eagan (Minn.) High

FB -- Andrew Grothmann, North Dakota St. 6-1 232 Sr. Hillsboro (N.D.) Hillsboro High

WR -- Jason Schneider, South Dakota State 6-5 220 Jr. Andover (Minn.) High
 Zach Vraa, North Dakota State 6-2 203 Jr. Inver Grove Heights (Minn.) Rosemount High

TE -- MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois 6-3 250 Jr. St. Louis (Mo.) Kirkwood High

OL -- Robert Booker, Missouri State 6-3 315 So. Ozark (Mo.) High
 Chris Elkins, Youngstown State 6-4 300 Sr. Beaver Falls (Pa.) High
 Jack Rummells, UNI 6-5 301 Jr. West Branch (Iowa) High
 Billy Turner, North Dakota State 6-6 314 Sr. Shoreview (Minn.) Mounds View High
 Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State 6-7 305 Sr. Houlton (Wis.) Somerset High

PK -- Tyler Sievertsen, UNI 6-2 185 Sr. Cedar Rapids (Iowa) C.R. Kennedy High

DL -- Ryan Drevlow, North Dakota State 6-4 281 Sr. Gwinner (N.D.) North Sargent High
 Colton Underwood, Illinois State 6-4 255 Sr. Washington (Ill.) High
 Connor Underwood, Indiana State 6-3 230 So. Washington (Ill.) High
 Xavier Williams, UNI 6-4 311 Jr. Grandview (Mo.) High

LB -- R.C. Kilgore, South Dakota State 6-1 225 Sr. Cottage Grove (Minn.) Park High
 Grant Olson, North Dakota State 6-0 228 Sr. Plymouth (Minn.) Wayzata High
 Bryan Presume, Southern Illinois 5-11 229 Sr. Kennesaw (Ga.) North Cobb High / Coffeyville CC
 Tyler Starr, South Dakota 6-5 250 Sr. Little Rock (Iowa) George-Little Rock High

DB -- Colten Heagle, North Dakota State 5-11 202 Jr. Appleton (Wis.) Kimberly High
Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State 6-0 214 Jr. Fair Grove (Mo.) High
 Marcus Williams, North Dakota State 5-11 192 Sr. Minneapolis (Minn.) Hopkins High
 Winston Wright, South Dakota State 5-10 190 Sr. Lee's Summit (Mo.) Blue Springs South High

P -- Nick Liste, Youngstown State 5-10 185 Sr. Niles (Ohio) Niles McKinley High

RS -- Andre Stubbs, Youngstown State 5-7 165 So. Maple Heights (Ohio) High



QB -- Kurt Hess, Youngstown State 6-3 230 Sr. Dayton (Ohio) Chaminade-Julienne High

RB -- Sam Ojuri, North Dakota State 6-0 212 Sr. Barrington (Ill.) High
 Martin Ruiz, Youngstown State 5-11 195 Fr. Tampa (Fla.) Robinson High

FB -- Vince Benedetto, South Dakota State 6-3 260 Sr. Crystal Lake (Ill.) Crystal Lake South High

WR -- Ryan Smith, North Dakota State 5-7 175 Sr. Wahpeton (N.D.) High
 Kevin Vereen, Jr., UNI 6-3 205 So. Waynesville (Mo.) High

TE -- Kevin Vaadeland, North Dakota St. 6-4 245 Sr. Park Rapids (Minn.) Park Rapids Area High

OL -- Josh Aladenoye, Illinois State 6-6 325 Sr. Mesquite (Texas) Oklahoma
 Jimmy Holtschlag, Western Illinois 6-5 300 Sr. Quincy (Ill.) Notre Dame High
 Zack Johnson, North Dakota State 6-4 317 So. Apple Valley (Minn.) Eastview High
 Dan Kruger, UNI 6-5 320 Sr. Wesley (Iowa) West Hancock High
 FN Lutz, Indiana State 6-3 290 Sr. West Lafayette (Ind.) Lafayette Harrison High

PK -- Thomas Kinney, Southern Illinois 5-8 174 Jr. McHenry (Ill.) Johnsburg High / Winona State

DL -- Collin Albrecht, UNI 6-4 255 Sr. Cedar Falls (Iowa) High
 Chase Douglas, South Dakota State 6-3 270 Sr. Brandon (S.D.) Brandon Valley High
 Kyle Emanuel, North Dakota State 6-3 246 Jr. Schuyler (Neb.) Schuyler Central High
 Anthony Grady, Missouri State 6-7 289 Sr. Texarkana (Ark.) Arkansas High

LB -- Nick Canavan, Missouri State 6-0 211 Sr. Norman (Okla.) Norman North High
 Jordan Gacke, UNI 6-2 227 Sr. Rock Rapids (Iowa) Central Lyon High
 Pat Meehan, Illinois State 6-1 220 So. Frankfort (Ill.) Lincoln-Way East High
 Teven Williams, Youngstown State 5-11 215 Jr. Huber Heights (Ohio) Wayne High

DB -- Sybhrian Berry, Missouri State 5-9 174 Sr. Camden (Ark.) Fairview High
 Martinez Davis, Western Illinois 5-10 180 Jr. Madisonville (Ky.) Air Force Prep / North Hopkins
 Makinton Dorleant, UNI 5-11 185 So. Bradenton (Fla.) Lely High / Maryland
 Howard Scarborough, Missouri St. 5-9 171 Sr. Tulsa (Okla.) Union High

P -- Ben LeCompte, North Dakota St. 5-10 200 So. Barrington (Ill.) High

RS -- Ryan Smith, North Dakota State 5-7 175 Sr. Wahpeton (N.D.) High

Honorable Mention
NDSU: OL Tyler Gimmestad, DL Leevon Perry, DB CJ Smith


Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.