Bohl and Jensen Honored by Missouri Valley Conference - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

Bohl and Jensen Honored by Missouri Valley Conference

Posted: Updated:

North Dakota State's Craig Bohl was named Bruce Craddock Coach of the Year and quarterback Brock Jensen was named Offensive Player of the Year Wednesday by a vote of the Missouri Valley Football Conference head coaches, sports information directors and media.

Bohl guided North Dakota State to its first undefeated regular season since 1990 with an 11-0 record including its fourth straight win over a Football Bowl Subdivision opponent at Kansas State in the season opener.  

NDSU won its third straight MVFC championship with an 8-0 record and advanced to the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs for the fourth straight season.  Bohl is NDSU's all-time winningest coach with a 100-32 record in his 11th season.

Jensen, a senior from Waupaca, WI, is the FCS record holder with 44 career victories.  He has made all 11 starts completing 67.6 percent of his passes for 2,076 yards and a school-record 26 touchdowns while also rushing for 268 yards and five touchdowns.  

Jensen led the league in total offense and passing efficiency and ranks fourth nationally in efficiency and seventh in completion percentage.  He is NDSU's all-time leader in pass attempts, completions, yards, TD passes and total offense.

South Dakota linebacker Tyler Starr was voted Defensive Player of the Year and Youngstown State running back Martin Ruiz was voted Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year.  The remainder of the all-conference teams will be announced Monday, Dec. 2.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.