NDSU Volleyball Earns No. 5 Seed for Summit League Championship - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

NDSU Volleyball Earns No. 5 Seed for Summit League Championship

Posted: Updated:

The North Dakota State volleyball team has earned the No. 5 seed for the 2013 Summit League Volleyball Championship, qualifying for the league tournament for the sixth time in seven years since joining the league.

IUPUI claims the top seed after capturing its second-straight Summit League regular season title.  Joining the Jaguars in the championship field are Denver, South Dakota, Fort Wayne, North Dakota State and Western Illinois.

The 2013 Summit League Volleyball Championship is hosted by IUPUI and takes place Nov. 22-24, at The Jungle in Indianapolis.

The Jaguars finished the regular season with an 11-3 record in league play and enter the league tournament with its second consecutive No. 1 seed. League newcomer Denver clinched the No. 2 seed with a league record of 10-4.  As the top-two seeds, IUPUI and Denver earn a bye in the first-round of the tournament.

South Dakota and Fort Wayne tied for third place in the regular season standings with a 9-5 record in league play.  The Coyotes claim the No. 3 seed by virtue of a better record against North Dakota State and Western Illinois, who tied for fifth in the regular season standings.  South Dakota makes its first appearance in the league tournament since joining the league.  Fort Wayne, the defending tournament champion, appears in its sixth consecutive league championship.

North Dakota State and Western Illinois each posted a league record of 6-8 in a tie for fifth.  The Bison earn the No. 5 seed after splitting their regular season matches with Denver, while the Fighting Leathernecks were swept by the Pioneers.  North Dakota State competes in its sixth league tournament in seven years since joining the league after missing out on last year's championship.  Western Illinois advances to the league tournament for the first time since 2007.

No. 3 South Dakota faces No. 6 Western Illinois in the first quarterfinal match on Friday at 4:30 p.m. (ET).  The second quarterfinal match pits No. 4 Fort Wayne against No. 5 North Dakota State at 7 p.m. (ET).  In Saturday's semifinal matches, No. 2 Denver will face the winner of South Dakota/Western Illinois at 4:30 p.m. (ET) and No. 1 IUPUI is set to take on the winner of Fort Wayne/North Dakota State at 7 p.m. (ET). 

The tournament concludes with Sunday's championship match at 2 p.m. (ET). The winner claims The Summit League's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Championship Schedule
Friday, Nov. 22 - Quarterfinals
4:30 p.m. – Match One: (3) South Dakota vs. (6) Western Illinois
7 p.m. – Match Two: (4) Fort Wayne vs. (5) North Dakota State

Saturday, Nov. 23 – Semifinals
4:30 p.m. – Match Three: (2) Denver vs. Winner Match One
7 p.m. – Match Four: (1) IUPUI vs. Winner Match Two

Sunday, Nov. 24
2 p.m. – Championship Match: Winner Match Three vs. Winner Match Four

All times Eastern


Courtesy: NDSU Athletics

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.