No. 17 Missouri Derails Bison Wrestling Opener, 23-9 - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

No. 17 Missouri Derails Bison Wrestling Opener, 23-9

Posted: Updated:

The No. 24-ranked North Dakota State wrestling team dropped its season-opening dual to No. 17 Missouri on Friday evening inside the Bison Sports Arena. Missouri won seven out of 10 matches to earn the 23-9 victory.

NDSU (0-1) received wins from senior 141-pounder Justin LaValle, senior 165-pounder Steven Monk and sophomore 174-pounder Hayden Zillmer.

The Bison dropped four matches by three points or less, including Evan Knutson's near-upset of No. 16 Devin Mellon at heavyweight. Mellon won a marathon match 4-3 by riding time advantage after a second tiebreaker period.

Missouri (1-0) won the first five matches of the dual, starting at 184 pounds and progressing to 133 pounds, before LaValle won a 4-1 decision over Trevor Jauch in his Bison debut. LaValle joined NDSU as a transfer from Old Dominion prior to this season.

The No. 3-ranked Monk recorded a 6-1 decision over Jordan Gagliano at 165 pounds to open his season. Zillmer wrapped up the dual by defeating Mike England 3-1 with a takedown in the final seconds.

NDSU had redshirt freshmen Hunter Weber (125), Justin Scherkenbach (133), Matthew Gray (157) and Colt Castlebury (197) make their collegiate debuts on Friday.

NDSU will host the Bison Open on Saturday, Nov. 9, for its next competition.

No. 17 Missouri 23, No. 24 North Dakota State 9               

184 - John Eblen (Missouri) won by decision over Kurtis Julson (NDSU) 5-2.

                Missouri leads, 3-0.

197 - J`Den Cox (Missouri) won by major decision over Colt Castlebury (NDSU) 14-4.

                Missouri leads, 7-0.

285 - Devon Mellon (Missouri) won in tie breaker 2 over Evan Knutson (NDSU) 4-3.

                Missouri leads, 10-0.

125 - Barlow McGhee (Missouri) won by decision over Hunter Weber (NDSU) 5-2.

                Missouri leads, 13-0.

133 - Eric Wilson (Missouri) won by decision over Justin Scherkenbach (NDSU) 4-2.

                Missouri leads, 16-0.

141 - Justin LaValle (NDSU) won by decision over Trevor Jauch (Missouri) 4-1.

                Missouri leads, 16-3.

149 - Drake Houdashelt (Missouri) won by decision over Tyler Diamond (NDSU) 6-1.

                Missouri leads, 19-3.

157 - Kyle Bradley (Missouri) won by major decision over Matthew Gray (NDSU) 10-2.

                Missouri leads, 23-3.

165 - Steven Monk (NDSU) won by decision over Jordan Gagliano (Missouri) 6-1.

                Missouri leads, 23-6.

174 - Hayden Zillmer (NDSU) won by decision over Mike England (Missouri) 3-1.

                Missouri wins, 23-9.


Courtesy; NDSU Athletics

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.