Vote Recalls Griggs County Commissioners - Valley News Live - KVLY/KXJB - Fargo/Grand Forks

Vote Recalls Griggs County Commissioners

Posted: Updated:

Five Griggs County commissioners are out of a job following a recall election Tuesday. 

The official results won't be released until they're canvassed on Monday, October 14, however it appears the five incumbents - Ron Halvorson, Ronnie Edland, Dennis Halvorson, Keith Monson, and Robert Johnson - were all soundly defeated.

Valley News Team's Hope Hanselman was in Cooperstown for much of the day following the recall election, and many voters told her that they got what they wanted, even though construction on a new courthouse, a contentious issue leading up to the recall election, will go on.

The county's new commissioners are John Wakefield, Shawn Steffen, Ron Dahl, Troy Olson, and Dale Pederson.

Of the 1,030 voters who cast ballots in the election, nearly 700 did so by mail. 

Original Story

Griggs County voters decide Tuesday if all five of their county commissioners will stay in office. 

The Griggs County Auditor says it's the first time in the history of the county all five commissioners have been the target of a recall.

People have been upset with the commission after they approved a plan to build a new courthouse despite voters rejecting the idea.

Voting goes from 9 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the Cooperstown City Hall.


Powered by WorldNow
Powered by 

WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Valley News Live. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.